This project is read-only.

New step status - skipped

Apr 11, 2010 at 11:56 AM

In my opinion, steps that follow a pending or failed step should be "skipped" (not executed) - as cucumber does it (http://wiki.github.com/aslakhellesoy/cucumber/step-definitions).

Currently, your example under "Passing, Pending, Failing" (http://storyq.codeplex.com/wikipage?title=write%20your%20first%20StoryQ%20test) prints the following:

With scenario first example:
Given this is my first try => Passed
When I run this method => Pending !!
Then I will see what happens => Failed -> Assert.Fail failed. [1]

I think this should be: 
With scenario first example
Given this is my first try => Passed
When I run this method => Pending !!
Then I will see what happens => Skipped

Apr 11, 2010 at 8:42 PM

Not a bad idea!

I might have to make this a non-default option (StoryQSettings.SkipAfterFirstFail?), because I don't want to break things for users that are used to the way StoryQ currently works.

Sukchr, do you think skipped steps should skipped show up in Nunit (etc) as red (fail) or yellow (pending/indeterminate)?

I will try and choose a tasteful shade of cyan for the reports that StoryQ has control over :)

Apr 12, 2010 at 9:24 AM
Edited Apr 12, 2010 at 5:27 PM

Having an option would be cool.

I think that the color should be that of the last executed step; If the last executed step is pending, then the color should be yellow. If the last executed step is failed, then the color should be red. In other words, skipped steps should not affect the NUnit coloring.

Having a different coloring in the StoryQ report is nice!

Apr 13, 2010 at 11:42 AM

Actually, I think it might need to be something you can customise on each step.

For example, a step that creates the test data in a database should block further steps if it fails.