This project is read-only.

Level of details

May 2, 2011 at 8:03 AM
Edited May 2, 2011 at 8:15 AM

Hi, I've got the following story and scenario.

Story is User sign up into site   
  In order to sign up into Site
  As a website user I want to get access to the web application With scenario Happy Path Given I provide the correct optional first name And I provide the correct optional last name And I provide the compulsory email which is not already in the system And I enter the correct compulsory Captcha And I agree or not to being sent promotional material And I confirm the terms and conditions have been read When I click on the sign up button Then the I get redirected to the sign up success page

My first question is what criticisms anyone might have of the story and scenario as I've just written it. I know it's a "how long is a piece of string" question but as a beginner, I would like to be guided a bit and not stray off too much.

The second question I have is this:

The scenario as it is, will, in my opinion, be suitable for the client to read and understand. However, when the conversation is between the analyst and the development team, there needs to be more detail. For instance, I've got:

Given I provide the correct optional first name

the developer will probably come back and ask, "What do you mean correct first name?". That's a valid question and I could create another document to flesh this out. However, it's something that I'd rather not do because that will mean that there are too many documents to maintain and it might go against the testable part of the INSPECT principles for writing a user requirement.

So my questions are:

1. Is this the right place to put that level of detail?
  2. If so, is there a possibility to hide some of the details from the client but shown to the developer? For instance, there are situations where jargon can pollute the requirement from the client's perspective but that jargon is needed by the developer.